How to Convert UTC to EST in Excel (Simple Formula)


Eastern Standard Time (EST) is five hours behind Coordinate Universal Time (UTC).

Thus, if it is 8:00 PM in UTC then it is 3:00 PM in EST.

To convert UTC datetimes to EST datetimes in Excel you can use the following simple formula:

=A2-5/24

This particular formula will convert the UTC datetime in cell A2 to a EST datetime.

Note: We must use 5/24 in the formula because datetimes are stored as days in Excel. If we just subtracted by 5 then we would instead subtract 5 days from the datetime.

The following example shows how to use this formula to convert UTC times to EST times in Excel in practice.

Example: Convert UTC to EST in Excel

Suppose we have a list of date and times in Excel that are currently in UTC:

Suppose we would like to convert each UTC time to EST time.

We can type the following formula into cell B2 to do so:

=A2-5/24

We can then click and drag this formula down to each remaining cell in column B:

Excel convert UTC to EST

Column B now displays each UTC time in column A in EST time.

For example:

  • 1/20/2023 3:30 in UTC is equal to 1/19/2023 22:30 in EST.
  • 1/10/2023 8:15 in UTC is equal to 1/10/2023 3:15 in EST.
  • 1/12/2023 10:58 in UTC is equal to 1/12/2023 5:58 in EST.

And so on.

Notice that each datetime in column B is exactly five hours behind each datetime in column A.

If you would like to display each datetime with AM and PM values, then highlight the range A2:B8 and press Ctrl + 1.

In the Format Cells window that appears, choose Custom from the Category list, then type m/d/yy h:mm AM/PM;@ in the Type box:

Once you press OK, each datetime will be shown with AM and PM values:

Note: You can use a similar formula to convert any datetime to another time zone if you simply know the difference in hours between the two time zones.

Additional Resources

The following tutorials explain how to perform other common operations in Excel:

How to Convert Time Duration to Minutes in Excel
How to Convert Date to Month and Year in Excel
How to Add Months to Date in Excel

Featured Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *